Over the past ten years the Virginia state legislature has enacted a series of laws tightening DUI requirements and increasing DUI penalties. In keeping with their mandate, law enforcement is out in force with “saturation patrols” and sobriety checkpoints to identify and arrest impaired drivers throughout the state.
The lawyers of the Boone Beale Law Firm are experienced Virginia attorneys. Our DUI Division has a group of attorneys specializing in DUI cases. We give you a free consultation with an attorney who knows the Virginia DUI penalties in Hanover County, VA, and has experience in both DUI and criminal defense cases.
Penalties for a First Offense Hanover County Virginia DUI
- A Class One misdemeanor criminal conviction
- A jail sentence of up to 12 months
- Depending on the defendant’s BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) a defendant must serve a mandatory minimum sentence of five days to 10 days.
- A mandatory minimum fine of $250 with a total not to exceed $2,500
- Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) completion.
- 12-month driver’s license suspension
- Installation of an ignition interlock system for a minimum of six months on any vehicle registered to, or owned by, the defendant if their BAC was >0.15.
If you are facing a 2nd or subsequent charges for impaired driving, the DUI penalties in Hanover County, VA are severe and may involve:
- A possible Class 6 felony for a third offense within ten years
- Indefinite license suspension
- to a 5 year prison sentence in a state penitentiary, and a
- Up to a $2,500.00 fine
Virginia DUI penalties in Hanover County, VA can have far-reaching, long-term implications for you, your family, your work, and your future But they don’t have to. Contact the professional attorneys at Boone Beale now to discuss your case and explore DUI defense tactics that could help win your case in court.