A DUI lawyer in Northern Virginia is your single best opportunity to gain the most positive results in your DUI case.
In some states the prosecution of traffic violations are handled as infractions that result in fines and the loss of driving privileges, but no jail time. But in the Commonwealth of Virginia a DUI conviction carries a heavy toll. A first offense DUI conviction in Virginia is a Class 1 Misdemeanor offense which carries the following penalties:
• Jail time: If your BAC level was under.15% a jail sentence will be at the court’s discretion. If your BAC level was .15% – .20% you will serve a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 5 days. If your BAC level was over .20% you will serve a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail.
• Fines: A first offense results in a mandatory minimum $250 fine amount.
• Test refusal: A first offense refusal results in a 1 year license suspension.
• Ignition interlock: If your first offense resulted in a BAC reading over .15% the court will require you to install an ignition interlock device on any vehicles you own prior to permitting the DMV to issue you a restricted license or reinstate your license once your revocation period is complete.
• License suspension: Your license will be suspended for 1 year after a first offense. The court has the authority to grant first time offenders at the time of sentencing with restricted driving privileges except offenders who refused to submit to a breath test.
In preparing your DUI defense, choose a DUI lawyer in Northern Virginia with a proven DUI track record in the Virginia courts – someone who has the skills, litigation experience, and complete familiarity with the Fairfax County judicial system. Your DUI lawyer in Northern Virginia is the sole person standing between you and a jail cell. The more capable they are, the better your chances of obtaining a satisfactory outcome.
Penalties for repeat offenders are also getting tougher in the Commonwealth, so a second or third DUI conviction will likely carry:
• Mandatory jail time
• A longer license suspension
• Larger fines
Even hardship licenses for driving back and forth to work are difficult to obtain. So, if you find yourself in the unfortunate position of having multiple DUI’s, severe consequences can be difficult or impossible to avoid even with a good lawyer. DUI in Fairfax, VA is just like most states which have Habitual Violator laws, requiring a mandatory felony conviction for every three DUI convictions. Three-time DUI offenders can lose their driving privilege permanently and their civil rights, like the right to vote.
You are innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt regardless of the accusations against you. Choose carefully, because your DUI lawyer in Northern Virginia can be the one person who can help you make the case so you can get on with living your life.