Penalties for a conviction of a first offense of DUI can be far-reaching and severe

Virginia DUI Defense: First Offense Penalties in Virginia

The penalties for a conviction of a first offense of DUI can be far-reaching and severe. The consequences for a DUI First conviction are up to one year in jail and/or a maximum $2,500 fine (minimum $250 fine), a mandatory one year suspension of your driver's license, and successful completion of the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program. Many offenders are granted restricted driving privileges to drive to and from work, school, religious services, and/or healthcare. It needs to be understood that a restricted driver's license is just that: restricted. You MAY NOT drive to go out to dinner or even to the grocery store. Driving outside of your restrictions will land you a charge for Driving on a Suspended License.

A lot of people are advised of the above and gladly enter a plea of guilty and get what they believe to be a slap on the wrist. They have to complete VASAP and suffer a restricted license for a year. Unfortunately there are more untold consequences than what meets the eye. You will be required to have an FR-44 Proof of Financial Responsibility on your driver's insurance for the next three years resulting in thousands of dollars in increased insurance premiums, and the conviction will remain on your criminal record for the rest of your life.

Call and talk to us. You need an experienced attorney to fight your case! You can plead guilty on your own. We will advise you of your options and offer our help. We won't judge you or treat you with disrespect. You can rest assured that you will leave our office with a better attitude than that with which you arrived.