The lights start flashing in your rear view mirror, and the sound of the siren pierces your ears. You immediately think he is after someone else while you look down at your speedometer and see you are going 81 mph in a 65 mph zone. Reckless Driving is a serious charge in Fairfax Virginia. In many states, driving too many miles per hour over the speed limit is only considered to be a traffic offense. In Virginia, driving more than 20 miles per hour over the speed limit, or driving in excess of 80 miles per hour, can result in a reckless driving charge.
Reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia – it is a criminal charge, not just a traffic infraction. If you are convicted, it carries a potential jail sentence of up to 12 months. You may also be fined up to $2,500 plus court costs, and your license can be suspended for up to 6 months. . Additionally (if convicted) the Virginia DMV will put negative six points on your driving record.
These are not the only potential consequences of a reckless driving conviction. As a result of negative points on your driving record, your auto insurance premiums may increase, especially if this is not your first ticket. A misdemeanor conviction can negatively impact a security clearance, It may affect a job application. The list can go on and on.
All these consequences can be avoided, however, if you are not convicted of the offense of reckless driving. Being charged with reckless driving does not automatically mean that you will be convicted. You should not simply pay the ticket and admit guilt without exploring your options. An attorney can help you determine what options you have to fight this charge.
At Boone Beale, we focus our practice on traffic charges. We can help you if you have been charged with Fairfax County VA reckless driving. Please call us at 804-780-1111; 703-690-1222 or 757-351-0808 to schedule a FREE initial consultation.